top of page
Search

Googly Eyes at the Guggenheim

After an exciting first day in Venice, filled with romantic gondola rides, fresh pasta noodles to-go, and towers of peanut butter gelato, we woke up today with full bellies and eager minds. Yesterday I had seen most of the famous landmarks, such as St. Mark’s Basilica and the Rialto Bridge, so I was determined to wander off the traditional path. Spotted from a ferry while on the Grand Canal, I noticed a beautiful, ornate palace. As the words on the building became clearer, I noticed it was The Peggy Guggenheim Collection. I immediately thought of the Solomon R. Guggenheim located in New York City, which I just visited last December with my family. With a warm feeling of family memories, I walked to the museum to purchase a ticket to tour Peggy Guggenheim’s former home. The museum consists of modern artwork, a sculpture garden, beautiful greenery, and unforgettable views of the Grand Canal. Walking through the museum was so peaceful, and I had a great appreciation for all the art pieces. One of my favorite things I learned about Peggy was her love for her dogs. They provided so much comfort for her since she lived alone, so they were often subject matter for artwork. In the garden, she is buried right next to her beloved furry friends. Although this information made me miss my dog at home, I am so thankful I was able to visit such a beautiful palazzo.





39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page