top of page
Search

To My Florence Family,

Updated: Jun 20, 2018

Bear with me as I write one of the sappier posts on this lovely blog that we have worked so hard on and enjoyed so much. For this blog I wanted to write some thank yous to everyone.

To my girls, thank you for being so down to earth, positive, and open to explore. You've pushed me to work harder and be a better person. I can only hope that we stay this close when we return home, but when we succumb to the stress of school and activities, just remember we will always have Florence.


To my paper group, you guys make me laugh so hard and stay up so late. Ya'll are creative, hard-working, and have an infectious passion for learning. Although we play more than we work together, we created an amazing paper from scratch and I am honored to be ~published (hopefully)~ with you.


To my lil hobbit home, you guys have changed my life. Kathryn, you taught me to be selfless and more thoughtful. Sarah, you taught me how to be an independent gal, I don't know how I would survive apartment life without you. And Aly, you taught me to be unapologetically myself. Thanks for creating this home away from home with me.


Stephanie, you are without a doubt the goofiest, most relatable, and wisest GA I’ve met. You are full of knowledge and have the perfect mix of brains and silliness. You have worked three times as hard as all of us and our appreciation for you is never ending. Even though you pronounce Appalachian wrong, I will forgive you only because you give me so many laughs.


To our leader and crusader, Dr. DeMaria--thank you for hand picking us to come along with you on this journey across the sea to learn a new culture and language (kind of) and to help women in Florence find their voices. Thank you for not only educating us on research 101, but also for spending time to learn about us on our two-on-ones, cheering us on at Ganzo, and treating us to gelato when we need a pick me up. You've created this little research family that we all appreciate so much.


Most importantly, thank you to our friends and family who encourage us, give us hope when are feeling home sick or stressed, and listen to us as we talk nonstop about our awesome trip. We would not be experiencing the trip of a lifetime without your support and care.





[This post was written by Maddie Cruse, a Junior studying Nursing]

57 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page